top of page

On March 24, 2007 John Anthony Taraskiewicz died in an automobile accident that left his friends, family, loved ones, and co-workers in shock...

"Tony", as he was known, was memorialized by his peers and co‐workers (past and present) as well as by the entire perfusion community to which he belonged at the 2007 Wisconsin Perfusion Society’s Spring Conference. At the close of that meeting it was suggested that the Society honor Tony's name by establishing a memorial.

Over the following two years, members of the WPS, both active and retired, formed the "Taraskiewicz Memorial Achievement Award Committee." This committee felt that Tony's memory would be best honored by recognizing an outstanding achievement by a student for service, concept, or methodology in the field of perfusion. At one point during his career as a perfusionist, Tony served as a clinical instructor for the Masters in Perfusion program at the Milwaukee School of Engineering. He was able to bring a different perspective in perfusion to the students and will always be remembered for that.

Those individuals or corporations wishing to contribute to this memorial in order to help the Wisconsin Perfusion Society recognize deserving students are welcome to do so.



Please mail donations to:

Kirsten Kallies, Acting WPS Treasurer

S84 W23478 Sherman Ln.

Big Bend, WI 53103

Your generosity will ensure the Wisconsin Perfusion Society's ability to honor Tony's name and at the same time assist students in continuing their education.

"Tony" Teraskiewicz Memorial Award

   2010 Nicole Carvelli, Rush

   2011 Trevelyn Rowell, MUSC

   2012 Gregory Gutowski, MSOE

   2013 Anh Duong, Rush

   2013 Antigone Morrison, Vanderbilt

   2014 Jarred Dupree, Vanderbilt

   2015 Katherine Kopec, Vanderbilt

   2016 Joseph Lepore, Vanderbilt

   2017 Mercede Davis, Vanderbilt

   2018 Nicholas LaRue, MSOE

   2019 Andrew Spies, Vanderbilt

   2020 Flavio Cavallari, MSOE

   2024 Catherine Kim, MSOE

The John "Tony" Taraskiewicz

Memorial Achievement Award

bottom of page